Can I Have Another Snack?
Can I Have Another Snack?
18: The Kids Standing in Clean Eating's Long Shadow
0:00
-30:29

18: The Kids Standing in Clean Eating's Long Shadow

Me reading to you

Welcome to this week’s episode of Can I Have Another Snack? Podcast. This week is a solo episode. I released one of these back in season 1 of the pod, where I read one of my essays to you. And it seems to be something you all really enjoyed so I’m bringing it back this week by reading probably the most popular essay I’ve published here on my Substack - “The Kids Standing in Clean Eating's Long Shadow”.

I published this essay back in January this year, after seeing one of Ella Mills’ (AKA Deliciously Ella) posts over Halloween. In the post in question, Mills went on the attack about Halloween sweets and candies, labelling them as ‘poisonous’, ‘non-foods’ that are ‘addictive’ and ‘full of shit’. And I really wanted to unpack the judgement and all too familiar moralisation of clean eating that diet culture creates.


No transcript today because the full piece is published here.

And don’t forget, for the month of March you can get 20% off paid subscription to celebrate CIHAS turning 6 months old!

Get 20% off paid subscription

0 Comments
Can I Have Another Snack?
Can I Have Another Snack?
Can I Have Another Snack? podcast is an exploration of appetite, identity, and bodies. We talk about how we feed ourselves and our kids (in all senses of the word!), and the ingredients we need to survive in diet culture. We’re sitting with the questions: who or what are we nurturing? And who or what is nurturing us? Hosted by Laura Thomas - anti-diet nutritionist and author of the Can I Have Another Snack? newsletter.